IIW 자격


Thank you for visiting the website of the Korean Welding and Joining Society (KWJS).

International Institute of Welding (IIWW)

With an initial membership of 13 countries, the IIW was founded in 1948, in response to the prevailing need to make possible more rapid scientific and technical progress in the field of welding. From the outset, the IIW established international groups of specialists to collectively study the scientific phenomena associated with welding and allied processes, their more efficient industrial applications and the means for communicating related information. Today, the IIW continues to pursue these objectives by promoting the global exchange of the latest scientific and technical developments and pioneering trends in materials joining, thereby enhancing the level of knowledge and encouraging excellence in the field, while also providing a forum for the creation, elaboration and transfer of best practices for sustainable development. The IIW’s General Secretariat is currently located in Paris, France.

At present, the Association comprises some 60 Member Countries, representing the four corners of the globe, organizing annual conferences, symposia and seminars in various regions, focusing on a wide range of hot topics. The IIW also authorizes and issues international qualifications and certifications, via its International Authorization Board (IAB), responsible for the implementation, oversight and development of the IIW’s Training, Education, Qualification and Certification programs for personnel involved in welding. The IIW also continues to promote the development of environmentally-friendly welding technologies, as well as the dissemination of knowledge about welding through its various publications. In association with ISO, the IIW is also actively involved in the establishment of international standards related to materials joining.

The KWJS initially joined the IIW in 1986 during its Annual Assembly and International Conference in Tokyo, but, due to unavoidable circumstances, it was later obliged to abandon its membership. In 2007, the KWJS was again welcomed into the IIW family during its Annual Assembly and International Conference held in Croatia and, since then, continues to play a most visible and active role while representing the Republic of Korea.

IIWW Member Countries

Africa and the Middle East
(12 countries)
Algeria, Angola, Cameroon, Egypt, Iran, Israel, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa and Tunisia
(5 countries)
Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Peru and the United States
Asia and Australasia
(13 countries)
Australia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, People’s Republic of China, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam
Europe and Eurasia
(30 countries)
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom

International Authorization Board (IAB)

The IIW’s International Authorization Board (IAB) is the entity responsible for education, training, authorization and quality assurance related to the issuance of IIW international certifications. At present, there are 46 countries registered as IAB members, countries which are thus officially permitted to deliver IIW accreditation. Since the IIW diplomas are internationally recognized, holders of such qualifications are widely pursued for international construction projects, amongst others.

IIW-IAB Member Countries

  • Africa and the Middle-East: Egypt, Iran, Nigeria, South Africa and Tunisia
  • Americas: Brazil, Canada and the United States
  • Asia and Australasia: Australia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, People's Republic of China, Republic of Korea, Singapore and Thailand
  • Europe and Eurasia: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom

Authorized National Body (ANB)

A country’s Authorized National Body (ANB) is responsible for issuing nationally-recognizable certifications. It serves as the Authorization Body for the IIW Member Country, while also overseeing and managing the respective examinations, qualifications and quality control issues. The IAB system only permits the membership of one ANB per country. As the IIW’s official ANB for Korea, the KWJS in turn supervises and manages the activities of all Approved Training Bodies (ATBs) in Korea, while simultaneously issuing certification for welding professionals via these ATBs.

Full ANB Authorization by IIW-IAB

At the IIW-IAB meeting held in Paris on January 18, 2012, the application for full authorization (IAB-WGB-271-11) submitted by the KWJS was discussed and subsequently approved. Mr. Christian Ahrens, the lead assessor who had inspected the KWJS, also presented his report during the meeting. Due to this nod of approval, the KWJS was officially appointed as the IIW’s ANB in Korea, receiving full authorization to run four training courses: Welding Engineer, Welding Technologist, Welding Specialist and Welding Practitioner.

The IIW’s IAB acts as the standardization body for training and authorization processes. Thus, the duly-appointed ANB of an IIW Member Country undertakes full responsibility to serve as a “local branch” of the IAB, insofar as all welding-related educational programs and authorization processes are concerned.

As the Korean ANB, the KWJS is responsible for the following: the approval of Korean ATBs for welding-related training and education, the issuance and authorization of diplomas for qualified professionals upon successful completion of the necessary courses, as well as the supervision of all relevant jobs. As part of a special Transition Agreement, the KWJS is also sanctioned to issue IIW diplomas to individuals previously certified as KWEs.

Approved Training Body (ATB)

An IIW Approved Training Body (ATB) is a training/education institute (center) involved in welding-related technologies. As such, an ATB can be established in relevant universities, colleges and other job-training centers. An ANB is expected to establish, manage and supervise multiple ATBs. Professional engineers who have completed ATB courses may access IIW certification by passing the requisite examinations.

IIW Training Courses

IIW Diplomas and Certificates
Training Course IIW Diploma IIW Certificate
International Welding Engineer
International Welding Technologist
International Welding Specialist
International Welding Practitioner
International Welder
International Welding Inspection Personnel
International Welded Structures Designer
Certified IWE
Certified IWT
Certified IWS
Certified IWP
Certified IW
Certified IWIP
Certified IWSD

IIW Diploma Lssued

Training Course N°. of Diplomas Issued Period
International Welding Engineer (IWE)
International Welding Engineer (IWE-TA Route)
Total = This information is very out-of-date (2013). More current data should be provided.